The founding mission for the Bonner Program is to provide diverse low-income, under-represented, and first generation students with the opportunity to attend college, while engaging their talents and educations in building and supporting communities.

In 1990, the Bonner Foundation launched the first Bonner Scholars Program in partnership with Berea College in Kentucky, also signaling a commitment to rural Appalachia. Designed to provide students with “access to education and an opportunity to serve,” the program has grown to become the largest privately-funded, service-based college scholarship program in the country.  The scholarship provides students with high financial need (defined as Pell eligible) and an ethic for service with four-years of financial aid support and an opportunity to participate in an intensive cohort experience.

The Bonner Program is designed to transform not only the students who are directly supported by the program, but also the campus and community in which they serve and learn. 

Since 1993, Richmond's Bonner Scholars Program (BSP) has included approximately 100 scholars at any given time, making it the largest program in the national Bonner network. The BSP is a four-year commitment to sustained community engagement and social justice education. Typically, 25 students per class year are selected to be Bonner Scholars.

 


Bryan Figura
Associate Director of Operations
Senior Advisor
804-484-1631 / bfigura@richmond.edu

Adrienne Piazza
Associate Director, Student Engagement and Bonner Scholars Program
Junior Advisor
804-484-1606 / apiazza@richmond.edu

Blake Stack
Assistant Director, Student Engagement and Bonner Scholars Program
Sophomore Advisor
804-484-1632 / bstack@richmond.edu

Natalie Thatcher
Administrative Coordinator, Student Engagement and Bonner Scholars Program
FWS Advisor
804-484-1630 / nthatche@richmond.edu

Breona Walker
CCE Fellow, Student Engagement
804-484-1633 / bwalker3@richmond.edu

Jessica Washington
Program Manager, Student Engagement and Bonner Scholars Program
First-Year Advisor
804-484-1539 / jessica.washington@richmond.edu
 

Contact Us

Bonner Scholars Program

CCE on 2

201 Tyler Haynes Commons

P (804) 484-1630

F (804) 484-1633

bonner@richmond.edu